08 June 2019

UK-Singapore FinTech Bridge

UK-Singapore FinTech Bridge

The UK has entered 5 FinTech Bridge agreements with other FinTech hubs including Singapore, South Korea, China, Hong Kong, and Australia. These bespoke agreements create valuable opportunities for the UK by overcoming barriers to international market entry and linking UK-based FinTechs with opportunities for international investment through:

  • Collaboration between key players in the UK FinTech sector and in Bridge markets on emerging market trends
  • Regulatory agreements that support firms to overcome market access barriers in each jurisdiction

By sharing knowledge and best-practice with Bridge jurisdictions, and aligning international FinTech policy development, we are increasing opportunities for FinTech firms to export solutions to key markets at pace.

HM Treasury, the Department for International Trade, and the Financial Conduct Authority are responsible for the delivery of FinTech Bridge policy.


UK-Singapore FinTech Bridge

The UK-Singapore FinTech Bridge was launched in May 2016 in London during the sixth UK-Singapore Financial Dialogue by HM Treasury and the Monetary Authority of Singapore.  The Bridge is underpinned by a regulatory cooperation agreement signed between the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) and the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) that enables the regulators to refer fintech firms that meet set eligibility criteria to their counterparts, and sets out how the regulators share and use information on financial services innovation in their respective markets.

To find out more and request FinTech Bridge support from HM Treasury, please email fintech@hmtreasury.gov.uk.

To find out more and request FinTech Bridge support from the Department for International Trade please email FSO Fin Techs FSOfintechs@trade.gov.uk.